top of page

Our Educational Structure

Educational Structure 


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.


Aims and Principals

  • A Unique Child recognises that every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured. 

  • Positive Relationships describes how children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and key workers.

  • Enabling Environment explains that the environment plays a key role in support for every child; the learning environment

  • Learning and Development recognises that children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates, and that all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

   Six areas covered by the early learning goals and educational programmes

  • Personal, social and emotional development

  • Communication, language and literacy

  • Problem solving, reasoning and numeracy

  • Knowledge and understanding of the world

  • Physical development

  • Creative development


The nursery operates a key person system, meaning each child is assigned a key person who is responsible for planning developmentally appropriate activities, observing progress, maintaining ‘Learning Journey’ journals and keeping you informed of your child’s progress. ‘Learning Journey’ journals are available for parent’s contributions and observations.

bottom of page