top of page

7 Areas Of Learning 

Activities and experiences are carefully planned unique and individual to each individual child.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development. 

Children should mostly develop the 3 ‘Prime’ areas first.

These are: 

  • Communication and Language; 

  • Physical development; and 

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development. 

These ‘Prime’ areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. 

 As children grow, the ‘Prime’ areas will help them to develop skills in 4 ‘Specific ‘areas.

These are: 

  • Literacy 

  • Mathematics; 

  • Understanding the world; and

  • Expressive arts and design. 

Children in the Early Years Foundation Stage learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

bottom of page